PDA

View Full Version : Out of club practice

plewis66
-24th October 2003, 15:44
I'm newly back into fencing. I fenced for two years about 13 years ago.

I have attended one club, and I'm probably going to go to another as well, because once a week is not enough for me. When I get into a thing, I want to really get into it.

What's the etiquette for attending multiple clubs? In martial arts, it can be a bit iffy

Now, I have a couple of friends, one of whom is only just starting (complete newbie), and the other who is an ex international champion fencer (though it was 30 something years ago he was fencing for the USSR!).

I want to do a couple of things. I want to practice in my own time, which is fine. I can practice footwork, point control, fitness/stamina etc. on my own, but more importantly, I want to fence.

What's the situation with regards fencing outside of a club? What would the reaction be if, for example, I rented a badminton court at the local sports centre, but fenced instaead of playing badminton?! (Not good I expect!)

Whilst I would feel happy fencing with my ex-champion friend, what advice would you give about two novices going off on their own? How long will it be before we would be considered 'safe' to this (given that we are not daft enough to try without suitable protection!)?

What about liability?

TIA

Boo Boo
-24th October 2003, 16:05
I fence regularly at 3/4 different clubs and also occassionally enjoy visits to other clubs. Clubs don't (or at least shouldn't) mind you fencing at other clubs. Coaches sometimes mind (especially if the fencer is competitively successful). Still, if your club only meets once a week, then they shouldn't mind you fencing elsewhere too at all (most coaches encourage their fencers to get more practice and to fence a wider range of people).

Hiring a badminton court at a sports centre to use for fencing is not normally a problem - however, it is normally good to expalin what you are going to use it for.