PDA

View Full Version : Forum descriptions - "Junior member"

wrinkly sabreur
-4th January 2008, 17:20
As a member of the category "Junior member", having contributed very little to the forum - partially because I had forgotten how to enter my pseudonym correctly and never seemed to have time to get it sorted (proves I'm a Vet!!) - I giggle every time I see that description.

The very fact that we are Vets - at least most contributing to this forum - means that "Junior member" is somewhat inappropriate. I know that is the done thing on such fora to classify people by the number of times they have contributed. Not sure why - does it make their contribution any less worthwhile, or well informed? That said how about something a little more appropriate or at least tongue in cheek than "Junior"?

It may be that the site is run from outside the fencing community with only some control exerted by our webmaster. In which case, one presumes it would not be possible to substitute another description meaning "one who is new to the forum".

Have only just had the idea and haven't come up with a suitable alternative. Have also been summoned to eat.

I'm sure there could be some amusing suggestions, even if they couldn't be implemented.

Might be worth a larf.

Cheers

WS.

kingkenny
-4th January 2008, 19:08
How about forum amature......

Stolen Time
-4th January 2008, 21:10
"Forum Amateur", OK, certainly better than "Junior Member"

But "Amateur" implies others are professionals and get paid.

I suggest "Inceptor", which I seem to remember is the Latin for "Beginner"? Or "Forum Inceptor" or (to avoid mixing assimilated and non-assimilated words) "Inceptor Fori"?

Tim S.

gbm
-4th January 2008, 23:07
Or just 'new' (if not chronologically then in posting terms)?

Captain Penguin
-5th January 2008, 17:22
Another forum I frequent uses "Newbie Loser". Would that do?

Ranks progress via "Loser" and "Regular" to "Verbose Git".

Joe Snr

Gav
-5th January 2008, 17:28