PDA

View Full Version : Breathing...(or not)!!

Sophie
-13th November 2003, 14:59
I have been fencing for about 2 years and have only recently noticed that I hold my breath when I attach (pretty stupid I know)!

Any ideas how I can stop doing this (or indeed, start breathing!).

And does anyone else have this problem or am I just odd?

whizzkid1982
-13th November 2003, 15:44
this will not cause you a problem since you use anaerobic breathing for the fast action of attacking. however you must remember to start breathing again afterwards. otherwise this leads to collapse, blackouts and eventually death!!:confused:

Robert
-13th November 2003, 16:01
Originally posted by Sophie
I have been fencing for about 2 years and have only recently noticed that I hold my breath when I attach (pretty stupid I know)!

Control of breathing has an important psychological and possibly some physiological effect. As an example Karate/Kung Fu/Kendo people are trained to breath out sharply as they attack (often as part of some sort of undignified shouting behaviour not appropriate for fencing:rolleyes: ), and boxers breath out sharply as they are attacked to the stomach. Breathing out is an important part of most stretching routines, and breathing pattern is vital in swimming.

Mostly, any powerful effort is best accompanied by a sharp exhalation so you should probably be breathing out during your attack but I think the effect is mostly psychological so I wouldn't worry much about it.

Robert

Boo Boo
-13th November 2003, 16:07
However, it might be an issue if your attack fails - i.e. you need to recover and retreat or look for a counter parry reposte or whatever.

I have read somewhere that fencers holding their breath and/or closing their eyes (?!?) is not hugely uncommon with an attack. However, I don't think that I have experienced either. But, since it is apparently reasonably common, I don't think that you are odd :)