PDA

View Full Version : Need Help!!!!

jpy8
-16th November 2003, 07:10
OK then let me explain!!!

I have been Fencing for aroun about 6-7 years right now I am 14.
I feel like I could improve A LOT MORE . I dont feel I have won enough(well I havnt won anything but I do have a few medals). I fence against some of the best fencers in the North West or even further. OK so I am not bad, but I am still not good enough!!
PLEASE HELP ME!! :moon: :upset:

jpy8
-18th November 2003, 06:51
I REALLY WOULD PIKE SOME TIPS PLEASE!!:)

Mantis
-18th November 2003, 07:43
Originally posted by jpy8
I REALLY WOULD PIKE SOME TIPS PLEASE!!:)

OK, here's one - say what you want help with and maybe you will get an answer. ;)

hokers
-18th November 2003, 08:33
Fundamentals is the thing that will make the biggest difference.

Work on your footwork, distance and point control.
At foil I would also suggest you spend time sharpening up your quarte riposte and circular parries. Lots of kids your age are fast and flicky at foil, so its probably worth working on countering that as well. Point in line, change of distance and enormous ugly parries are the best ways to counter the flick I would say, but there are lots of people much better qualified to advise you on here..

jpy8
-19th November 2003, 06:45
I am not really that good at flicks or countering them, so I think that is my downside. The thing is that my club really dont do flicks. My coach is very traditional. He is good. Just I feel I need to learn more!! The problem is that I am one of the two best foil fencers (kids) there by far all the rest of them are 11. It doesnt give me a challenge and that is what I want. So I cant wait to do the BYC qualifiers!!:grin: I need a CHALLENGE :mad:

pinkelephant
-19th November 2003, 07:42