PDA

View Full Version : overmovement

rusty1109
-1st March 2004, 08:39
Hi,
i'm new to fencing -i think it's been 4 months now- and i'm loving it (who wouldn't :) ) . But i've been having a lot of trouble with keeping my movements as a whole under exaggerated (grammer?(spelling?)) everything i do just becomes too big and therefore takes too long. most of it is probably just lack of practice but after reading another thread on here i wondered if it was because i'm using a pistol grip? is it teaching me bad habits? should i change to french and does anyone have any advice on what to do?
cheers
rusty
ps i'm a leftie :grin:

hokers
-1st March 2004, 10:32
It just comes with practice. Try practicing very small circles, as small as you can in the air with your foil. Then try figure-eights. Then very small disengages in both directions. Try straightening your arm to hit something like a lunging pad or target of some kind. This should help your point control, it will improve over time :)

aao
-1st March 2004, 10:45
don't worry its all to do with wrist strength and finger play ;)

when you start fencing its quite natural for most of the actions you try to come from the shoulder and arm hence the big slow movements. Practice moving the blade by just using your wrist and fingers and you'l find that your actions become far more tightly controlled and much faster as a result.

slimrbp
-1st March 2004, 11:26
I'm new myself (started Novemeber last year). When I bought my first foil I bought a pistol grip (I had previously been using a French Grip) and also found I was making big movements.

After a while practicing on lunging pads and practicing disengages etc. I found I was gripping too tightly so all of the movement was being forced to my wrist and arm. I think the shape of the grip makes it easier to grip too tightly (not a problem with the grip as such just how tightly I was holding it).