PDA

View Full Version : Competition Discussions for Epee

sblatchley
-9th May 2003, 09:08
As a relative beginner I have several questions about competitions. I'm sure there's others out there like me (who want to compete) but are a little unsure of certain aspects. That's the purpose of this thread.

So here I go...

1. Do I need a 1600N mask and 800N breeches to enter UK competitions?

2. What is a Class A competition?

3. Does one need two blades and two wires and if so what quality should the blades be?

4. Can someone like me enter the Miller Hallett?

kingkenny
-9th May 2003, 09:24
1. Do I need a 1600N mask and 800N breeches to enter UK competitions?
Only for international and a- grade comps otherwise 350N is fine

2. What is a Class A competition?
A competition with international fencers, points are given for your finishing place. The point earned enable you to go to the olympics or give you a better world ranking.

3. Does one need two blades and two wires and if so what quality should the blades be?

You should have 2 weopans and one wire and the standard blades are fine unless its an a-grade and then it has to be Maraging(a steel with no carbon in so it is alot stronger last 3 times as long if made correctly)

4. Can someone like me enter the Miller Hallett?
I think so you would have to look but it should have a link in the calander section of the site.

Comps are what fencing is all about they give you a chance to test yourself against new fencers and it a good day out if I were you i would go to one and give it a go.

:party: :party: :party: :party: :party: :transport

wingnutLP
-9th May 2003, 10:04
Very comprehensive Kenny.

Keep up the good work, you are saving me a lot of time!:drink:

sblatchley
-9th May 2003, 10:23
Thanks KingKenny - very helpful.

One other question then;

How do I know when it's a Class A competition?

Hudson
-9th May 2003, 10:30