PDA

View Full Version : Hello everyone...

pincushion
-1st June 2004, 12:11
I'm very new to fencing and I've finally found something that I really love doing and will get me fit again.

I've practiced martial arts for 25 years (yes, I'm an old git), but sadly it has had to take a back seat 'cos of a bike accident. I badly damaged my left shoulder, but luckily I'm right handed so fencing is ideal!!!

Epee is my weapon of choice and it's amazing how similar all the footwork and techniques are to the martial art of Xingyiquan (rare Chinese stuff that no one has ever heard of!)

I live in Saddleworth (right next to the moor...) and fence at Ashton fencing club.

Look forward to chatting and sharing info with any/all of you guys.

Regards

Steve :)

uk_45
-1st June 2004, 12:15
Hi welcome to the mad house (tradtional forum greeting) You aint as old as you think in the scale of fencing.

Glad to hear you enjoying it

Rdb811
-1st June 2004, 12:17
There's a lot of late starters on here, so you'll be very welcome - lot's of interesting stuff on the variuous forums.

(Only one problem though - there is a ritual ofpeople posting 'welcom to the mad house' and "don't expect any sanity" - this isn't true, except in the Chit Caht sction and then a long rambling conversation will develop as sevral naughty boys try and uptheir post count.)

Rdb811
-1st June 2004, 12:17
He got there before me.

uk_45
-1st June 2004, 12:19
Originally posted by Rdb811
except in the Chit Caht sction and then a long rambling conversation will develop as sevral naughty boys try and uptheir post count.)

Chit chat posts don't sount any more and i remeber when you where goin for 2000 posts.

A acctually now belief that on this forum you really do get a smart answer to question quickly and that this much is great.

Emma T
-4th June 2004, 12:47
I'm a newbie too!