PDA

View Full Version : Olympic Report No 1

GrahamWatts
-10th August 2004, 11:09
OLYMPIC REPORT NO 1

Hi - this is my first attempt at keeping people informed about what is happening here in Athens.

Richard (Kruse) and Louise (Bond-Williams) are currently in Barcelona at the Team GB Holding Camp* with Ziemek Wojciechowski and their sparring partners. Richard, Louise and Ziemek will leave to come to Athens tomorrow (11 August). I left yesterday to sort out all the preliminaries and I am posting this from inside the Olympic Village.

Prior to going to Barcelona, Richard attended a training camp in Portugal (with a number of other Olympic foilists and their sparring partners) and Louise attended a training camp in Italy with the Italian and US teams. Both are in good condition and raring to go!

The draw for the individual events will take place on 12 August at 1030 am (Greek time). At the moment, given the likely declared fencers, it looks as if Richard will receive a bye to the L32 where he will be paired with either Gomes (Portugal), whom he beat in the L32 of the 2003 World Championships or Wang (China) to whom he lost recently at the same stage in the Havana World Cup. Louise seems likely to be paired with either Koenig (Germany) or Orsolya Nagy (Hungary) who narrowly beat Louise 15/14 in the final of the recent European Olympic Qualifier. I HASTEN TO ADD HOWEVER THAT NONE OF THIS IS YET OFFICIAL SINCE THERE IS STILL TIME FOR LAST MINUTE CHANGES DUE TO INJURY - and there are some rumours of possible injuries floating around so we will have to wait and see what the draw brings on Thursday.

As I am sure you all know, Richard competes in the Mens Foil on Monday, 16 August and Louise in the Womens Sabre on the 17 August. The Olympic Fencing Tournament starts with the Mens Sabre individual event on Saturday (14 August).