PDA

View Full Version : Where can I get cheap but serviceable kit for my club?

ceprab
-21st May 2003, 15:36
Title says most of it really.
At the moment I am particularly interested in steam foil blades as we have a large intake of absolute beginners at the start of each year, and the steam foils have a steady attrition due to developing, um, "interesting" bends.

Cheers.

Damn tight budgets.

randomsabreur
-21st May 2003, 15:40
I would suggest contact all UK sellers and ask for quotes and discounts depending on the size of the order. There is usually a club discount which can go up depending on the size of the order.

wingnutLP
-21st May 2003, 16:02
If it is steam foils you are after bear in mind that the BFA reccomends that all beginners now start with a size 3 steam foil blade as they are easier to controll, less painfull to be hit with and lighter.

Also some blades are more durable and long lasting than others so the cheapest quote will not neccesarily offer best value for money over a period of years.

randomsabreur
-21st May 2003, 16:37
Size 3 foils for beginners. Excellent, give them those, I'll keep my size 5 and I might just be able to beat them for once, rather than giving them an exciting win to tell all their friends about. I just can't hit properly with a foil!

It makes sense to have a smaller lighter weapon. Build up the arm muscles gradually so only the legs are screaming after the first session.

What non- maraging foils keep a sensible shape for longest. All the foils I have encountered, both steam and electric have taken on interesting, if sculptural shapes rather too quickly for my tastes.

Rdb811
-21st May 2003, 21:07
Like the Camden pipe cleaner that I could bend through 90 deg. and it didn't bend back.

ceprab
-21st May 2003, 22:57
The what foils keep shape for longest is also part of it.