PDA

View Full Version : Advice Please

Mr_MartinQc
-30th June 2003, 20:30
Hi Everyone.

Just like to say I find the information contained in these pages very interesting. I am interested in starting fencing I have never done it before dont and even know why I have become interested to be honest, I am male and 22 years of age and keen to start as soon as possible. I have no idea how to join a club or association or where I can sign up for lessons/ classes. I understand there are two associations in my area. One in Sheffield and one in Doncaster. I would feel a bit of afool to be honest approaching them as I dont know enough about the sport.

I also have no idea on how much tuition will cost. I dont know how much the equipment will be or where I can obtain it from.

Any advice offered would be appreciated?

jerry
-30th June 2003, 21:04
Hello there MartinQC and welcome to the forum.

Am sure you will get lots of replies but just thought I could give some advice from what I have learnt in the eight wks that I have been fencing-due to complete my beginner's course in two wks time! Don't feel foolish, we all start somewhere mate! Or should I say Sir!!!?
Either look up your local club in your phone book or on the net using the search engine-contact them and find out when the next beginners course starts. I did this and it made no difference to them that I knew nothing about fencing-because its for people completely new to the sport. My course cost 20 pounds for the whole 10 wks.
Equipment is provided, I think this is the same at most clubs cos of cost. You can start to buy your own kit in when you think after a while you like it enough to stick at it. There is a shop here on this site for those lucky enough with credit cards! Its expensive this sport, a basic beginners kit is about 150 pounds. (Sorry the pound key not working on my keyboard!)
Most clubs meet once a week for about two hrs but beginners usually for an hr.