PDA

View Full Version : Epee league

madfencer
-26th September 2005, 12:51
Hello!

I'm going to do our clubs monthly epee league and its my first time ever this thursday! any tips? i dont know if any of your clubs have leagues.

cheers,
madfencer
:)

Farrago
-26th September 2005, 14:29
I don't think we've done leagues as such. How many people is it for and how are you thinking of doing it?

We've done friendlies like girls against boys with 3 on a team. I think it will be harder to do poules and DEs but if you've done lots of competitions you can probably work it out. For DEs do you base people on indicators from poules?

My tip would be make sure in advance everyone has a body-wire and to check kit before starting then it will (hopefully) flow better.

Epeecurean
-26th September 2005, 16:32
Like Farrago says, the number of entrants and the time/space available to you will sort of dictate the format you need to use.

At Haverstock we do a weekly poule night with fencers divided up by level into up to three poules of up to 12 fencers. Poule bouts are 5 touches. Afterwards, the top 8 finishers in each poule fence DEs of 10 touch bouts to determine the winner of the poule. Then from week to week fencers get promoted or relegated from poule to poule depending on their results in the previous week(s). The aim iof this format is to generate close competitive bouts and avoid lop-sided match-ups, and also (through promotion/relegation) to provide an incentive to get everyone to fence their best.

Once a term or so we also run a 'winner takes all' competition where everyone puts in a pound or two to make it interesting. For this we do a fairly traditional tournament set-up of poules followed by a DE of the top 16 fencers, but to make it a bit more even we handicap the higher-ranked fencers a few points. (something like starting out down 2-nil in the poule bouts and 5-nil in the 10 touch bouts).