PDA

View Full Version : Which Grip?

HalfMind
-16th July 2003, 16:29
I'm just getting started fencing and I don't know the diffrence between all the grips... Whats the diffrence?:dizzy:

reposte
-16th July 2003, 16:35
French grip: Ideal for beginners. Teaches point control and encourages correct movement of wrist.
Russian pistol grip:
The next phase after French. A pistol like grip that doesn't allow for finger and point control to be neglected.
Italian Visconti: Flicking, the fencing answer to the Eighties's fashion.
That's the recommended path in my view through grips as you go on fencing.
Good Luck.

HalfMind
-16th July 2003, 16:37
OOOh ok thanks. :transport

Rdb811
-16th July 2003, 23:23
Err - I think reposte is well off the track and doesn't have the experience to comment - depends whcih weapon and what your style is like - in general a French grip is classically supposed to allow for quicker reactions - whereas the pistol grip allows for more powerful blade work - I changed from French to pistol in epee, attempted the Leon Paul long handle but found it a compelete disaster (no strength against prise de fer) - a lot of epeeists use a french grip for pommeling, but that requires very strong muscles and a lot of practise. I now use 'elephant ears' grips so that I can execute prime.

On the other hand, I may go back to franch grips for foil, but I do so little that it's not worth replaceing the blades.

I'm not really the best person to ask, either.

Rdb811
-16th July 2003, 23:39
You can always hacksaw a french grip blade to fit a pistol grip - you can't go the other way.

reposte
-17th July 2003, 10:50
Perhaps I didn't clarify. The way I got it from the original thread poster, he's looking for a grip to start with.